Librarians might be able to help

Hunts Needle in a Haystack (Jul, 1939)

Hunts Needle in a Haystack (Popular Science, July 1939)

Before Christmas I was talking to a student who was telling me about his research project, and I asked whether he had tried searching RILM (usually pronounced “rillm”, as opposed to “rylm” or “ar-eye-el-em”) for some foreign-language publications on his non-English subject area. He looked at me slightly non-plussed.

Well, I think every person researching music should know about this bibliographic database; Anna already wrote about e-resources in How to find journal articles… and anything else really, so I won’t repeat here what she has said there.

I enjoy presenting and teaching, so I decided that offering a session as part of the Cambridge University Library’s Research Skills training programme was in order; however, I also sent out an email to first years to ask people to express an interest in such a session.

I won’t bore you with a “blow by blow account”, but the important thing is: if you are reading this and think ‘I really wish they’d offer a session on, say, finding sheet music at CUL’, or a session on e-resources of your choice, please email me at cg474.

In case you would like to have another session on Music Resources at the UL or at the Pendlebury Library, you can go to http://training.cam.ac.uk/cul/course/cul-mus, log in with your user name and Raven password, and express an interest in such a session – if there is enough interest, we might be able schedule a session sooner than later.

Cambridge University Library Training, Timetable (screenshot February 2011)

Cambridge University Library Training, Timetable (screenshot February 2011)

Talking of which: the next session for How To Find Literature about Music is scheduled for Mon 21 Feb 14:00 – 15:00, Cambridge University Library, IT Training Room and that will definitely cover RILM. If you are interested, please book through http://training.cam.ac.uk/cul/event/156086
CG

About cg474

Between August 2010 and November 2013 I was the Deputy Head of Music at Cambridge University Library and at the Pendlebury Library of Music (Cambridge, UK), but don't hold this against me when reading my posts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Librarians might be able to help

  1. Pingback: A Librarian needs your help | MusiCB3 Blog

Leave a Reply

